Ladies Captain alters card after signature

by Roger

Changing Golf Score

We play in France at a club with no committee but a couple who decide everything. There has been a ladies captain for years; she helps choose and award prizes. She is known to bend the rules!

Last week my wife signed her card and the captain handed the two cards in to the club owner for the results. My wife was suspicious and asked the owner to see the card again. The captain had written over a cross (Stableford) and changed it to a 5. She proceeded to win the ladies prize!

The other two players in the 4 ball confirmed the alteration since they had also marked all scores. The owner was not prepared to act and so after a week of deliberation I angrily accused her. Denied of course but ... the evidence is conclusive.

How should one go about these matters when there is no committee and it is the captain who cheats? We are dismayed by the lack of concern about cheating at the club.


Roger, thanks for the question on what happens when there is altering of the scorecard after signature.

To answer your question, the captain should have been disqualified from the competition for changing the score. This rule can be found on the USGA's website at (32-2a 6-6d) or the R&A's website at (32-2a 6-6d).

By altering the score to a lower score that would benefit the "side" then that "side" is disqualified in a Stableford competition.

Assuming there is no head professional on site and the club owner is unable to govern the rules then in the future there should be an appointed committee by the club to oversee the competition.

However, in appealing this past competition, you could contact R&A's Rules of Golf committee for further information. You can contact them via their contact form.

I hope this information helps and if you have any further questions in regards to altering the scorecard after signature then please comment below.

All the best,


Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Bo Knows Golf Tips Questions and Answers.

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Bo Knows Golf Tips Facebook Bo Knows Golf Tips Twitter

We appreciate anything you can contribute to this website. We appreciate your support as we do not take your donations lightly as it helps keep our website current and fresh with information. To donate please use the button below. If you give $20 or more we will send you our free E-Book "The Major Swing Philosophies of Golf" by Bo Watson

Subscribe to our Monthly Newsletter!

E-mail Address
First Name

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Bo Knows Golf Tips Newsletter.

Ask a Pro Can't find what you're looking for? Ask me over at Golf Questions and Answers Page.

Putting Line Find out why a correctly fit putter is crucial to the success of your Putting Line.


Bo, I wanted to thank you for your help so far with my golf game. I wanted to let you know that I shot a 75 the other day in a tournament round, my best round ever. I had 32 total putts and NO 3 putts. I definitely couldn't have done that before. Thanks again and I'll be back in touch soon to get some more lessons lined up.


Bo I just wanted to tell you about another tournament I played in. I went out and played and shot a 75 which is one of my best rounds this year so I think everything is coming together. I've been making alot of birdies lately and just wanted to thank you for everything!

Adam Mikhalko

Hey Bo when I got back from camp I played really well I’m putting great and I’m hitting the ball well. Thank you for everything at camp.


Hey Bo!!! I have been playing my best in golf, mostly because of you!!! two days ago I shot an 80 in my club tourney and came in 3rd place.

Brandtley Taylor

I played in a tournament when I got back from camp and shot 76 and came in fourth. I feel much more confident on the course with my mental thoughts. I used the tips you wrote down on that sheet and they have helped me alot.

Freddy Weber