Ball at rest on Green moves on its own
If on the green one picks up the ball after marking it and puts it back after cleaning and remove the marker also, after that if the ball moves on its own due to the incline or wind blowing does the player incur a stroke .. Please clafify.
Dr Jasinder Singh Bath
Dr Jasinder Singh Bath,
A ball at rest that moves after being replaced by the wind or slope will not result in a penalty stroke as long as the ball is played from its new position.
This is the new rule that will go into effect for 2012.
However, under the rules of 2011 if the ball moved after you addressed the ball then you would be required to replace the ball to the original spot and incur a penalty stroke. If you had not addressed the ball and it moved due to the wind or slope then you would simply play the ball from its new position without penalty.
This ball at rest moving after address rule can be found under 18-2B
So, up until the end of this year the USGA's rules of 2011 will be in effect for all rulings. Hopefully this doesn't happen to you until January 2012.
I hope I was able to clarify this rule on the ball at rest moving after replacement. If you still have questions or comments please feel free to fill out the comment form below.
Best of luck,